Ubisoft Is Bringing Karaoke Back With ‘Just Sing’

Ubisoft, the publisher behind the popular Just Dance games, is bringing a new singing game to the market with Just Sing. Coming to Xbox One and PlayStation 4 on September 6, Just Sing gives players the chance to engage in karaoke-style singing competitions as well as lip sync battles.


Just Sing features two distinct playable modes: Party mode and Battle mode. Party mode is the casual mode where friends and family can enjoy singing along or lip-syncing along with any of the game’s songs. Up to four players can enjoy singing together in Party mode. Plus, a music video of the performance can be made to immortalize the memories. Themes and filters can be added and changed mid-performance to best suit the mood and make each video unique.

Music videos require the Xbox One Kinect or PlayStation Camera hardware; but, those without the add-on peripherals can use their smartphones instead if they download the optional Just Sing companion app. The app is available for both iOS (version 8.0 and above) and Android devices (running 4.3 and higher). Per Ubisoft’s instructions, to use the app as the recording device, “players just need to connect their phones to the same Wi-Fi network as their gaming console.” In addition to recording music videos, the companion app can also serve as a wireless microphone, which may come in handy when playing with larger groups.

Similar to Just Dance, whenever a music video is made, players can choose to save the video on their console, send the video to select friends, or publicly post the video for all to see in the game’s video viewer.

Just Sing Battle Mode Battle mode in ‘Just Sing.’ [Image via Ubisoft]For the more competitive players, there’s Battle mode. It is basically a one-on-one singing competition, and players can select special effects that appear on screen to change up the battle experience. To create a lip sync battle, simply disconnect the mics and let loose. It will be interesting to see how popular this mode becomes with the Just Sing community, and if players will don elaborate costumes like the competitors on the popular Lip Sync Battle television show.

More than 40 tracks are set to be included in Just Sing. As noted by Ubisoft, among the more recent hits featured in the game are:

  • “All About That Bass” by Meghan Trainer
  • “All Of Me” by John Legend
  • “Call Me Maybe” by Carly Rae Jepsen
  • “Can’t Feel My Face” by The Weeknd
  • “Chandelier” by Sia
  • “Counting Stars” by OneRepublic
  • “Drag Me Down” by One Direction
  • “Focus” by Ariana Grande
  • “Love Me Like You Do” by Ellie Goulding
  • “One More Night” by Maroon 5
  • “Radioactive” by Imagine Dragons
  • “Shut Up And Dance” by Walk The Moon
  • “Stitches” by Shawn Mendes
  • “The Fox” by Ylvis
  • “What Do You Mean?” by Justin Bieber

Classic hits like Queen’s “I Want To Break Free” and popular songs from the 80s and 90s will also be featured in Just Sing. A few of the other tracks confirmed to be in the game include:

  • “Baby One More Time”
  • “Don’t Worry Be Happy”
  • “Girls Just Wanna Have Fun”
  • “Hound Dog”
  • “Kryptonite”
  • “Loveshack”
  • “I Love Rock ‘N’ Roll”
  • “It’s Raining Men”
  • “I Want You Back”
  • “I Will Survive”
  • “My Heart Will Go On”
  • “Rude”
  • “Stand By Me”
  • “Take On Me”

There are also some Disney songs that come with Just Sing, including “Can You Feel The Love Tonight,” “Colors of the Wind,” and “Let It Go.” For those who’ve played Disney Interactive’s Sing It series of games during the previous console generation, this may seem like a repeat performance.

As is the case with most music-based games, additional songs can be purchased from the Just Sing streaming store. There are over 1,000 songs in the store that can be purchased via downloadable content packs.

[Image via Ubisoft]