Madden NFL 10 predicts Patriots for Super Bowl XLIV

Every year, EA hypes its latest version of Madden NFL by kicking back and letting the computer play through an entire season. It’s a novel way of generating publicity, but shouldn’t necessarily be scoffed at.

Last season, for instance, the game came eerily close to getting the Super Bowl spot-on, predicting a 28-24 Steelers victory over the Cardinals. The real thing finished 27-23. Whew.

This year, EA left Madden NFL 10 to its own devices, resulting in a New England Patriots victory in Super Bowl XLIV, following a 14-2 season. Other division champs will supposedly include the Steelers, Titans, Chargers, Eagles, Falcons, Cardinals and Bears, while the Giants will pick up a wild card, along with the Colts, Ravens and Panthers. I’m off to the bookies, having now remortgaged the house.

The predictions in full:

NFL 2009 Season Awards (as simulated by Madden NFL 10)

NFL MVP – Tom Brady, New England Patriots
Offensive Player of the Year – Tom Brady, New England Patriots
Defensive Player of the Year – Patrick Willis, San Francisco 49ers
Offensive Rookie of the Year – Mark Sanchez, New York Jets
Defensive Rookie of the Year – Brian Orakpo, Washington Redskins
Coach of the Year – Andy Reid, Philadelphia Eagles.

NFL 2009 All-Pro Team

Quarterback – Tom Brady (New England Patriots)
Running Back
– Michael Turner (Atlanta Falcons); Brandon Jacobs (New York Giants)
Wide Receiver
– Randy Moss (New England Patriots); Andre Johnson (Houston Texans)
Tight End
– Jason Witten (Dallas Cowboys)
Offensive Line – Matt Light (New England Patriots); Shawn Andrews (Philadelphia Eagles); Chris Snee (New York Giants); Logan Mankins (New England Patriots); Michael Roos (Tennessee Titans)
Defensive Line – Trevor Pryce (Baltimore Ravens); Haloti Ngata (Baltimore Ravens); Kris Jenkins (New York Jets); Osi Umenyiora (New York Giants)
Linebacker – Patrick Willis (San Francisco 49ers); Channing Crowder (Miami Dolphins); James Farrior (Pittsburgh Steelers)
Defense Back – Brandon Meriweather (New England Patriots); Nnamdi Asomugha (Oakland Raiders); Ed Reed (Baltimore Ravens); Donte Whitner (Buffalo Bills)
Kicker – Josh Scobee (Jacksonville Jaguars)
Punter – Brad Maynard (Chicago Bears)
Kick Returner – Devin Hester (Chicago Bears)
Punt Returner – Josh Cribbs (Cleveland Browns)

[Via press release]