David Bowie’s Deram Catalogue To Be Re-Released On Vinyl

David Bowie’s legacy still lives on after his death, but that doesn’t mean that the late glam rocker won’t have any new material. Bowie had planned well in advance new albums that will see the light of day, even after Bowie had learned that his cancer had spread.

Consequence of Sound said the following.

“David Bowie the artist may be gone, but his music will live on for years to come. And by the sound of it, fans will have plenty more songs to look forward to in the future… Bowie prepared a number of anthologies to be released in the proceeding years.”

Bowie had planned to hit the studio to record more material as he thought he had months to live. Sadly that was not the case.

Newsweek also reported on the news.

“According to the person close to Bowie, there is “a long list of unscheduled musical releases that Bowie planned before he died…” It is not yet known whether they will contain previously unheard work, though past rereleases of Bowie’s work have.”

David Bowie Vinyl

Bowie’s current catalog has been sought after amongst vinyl collectors. With the news of Bowie’s death, fans have been clamoring to get their hands on any of his albums, which has caused major retailers to sell out of current stock. This has been the norm when any big musician passes on. In 2009, when the death of Michael Jackson was announced to the world, fans jumped at the opportunity to grab many of his popular albums. The same happened other artists such as Nirvana, whose lead singer Kurt Cobain committed suicide in his Seattle home and after Tupac Shakur was murdered in Las Vegas after leaving a boxing match.

The recent sales of Bowie’s albums has catapulted the artist to the number one spot on many music charts all over the world.

UK pressings of Bowie’s BlackStar, are fetching prices at around $600 on eBay. Most of his earlier albums are out of print and fetching prices in the triple digits. This includes first pressings of albums such as The Rise and Fall of Ziggy Stardust And The Spiders From Mars, Aladdin Sane, Heroes and Space Oddity just to name a few.

However, there’s good news for all the vinyl junkies. Bowie’s estate is re-releasing his earlier albums released by Deram Records on vinyl later next month. According to Bowies website, they’ve listed the following albums available for pre-order:

  • The Rise and Fall of Ziggy Stardust And The Spiders From Mars
  • Space Oddity
  • Aladdin Sane
  • Hunky Dory
  • The Man Who Sold The World
  • Diamond Dogs
  • Pinups

Though the list mainly showcases albums released through Deram Records; an imprint of Decca, albums such as Heroes and Let’s Dance are missing as they were released through different labels. No word as if said albums will be released in the near future.

[Photo by Andrew H. Walker/Getty Images]

Bowi’s live album Bowie at the Beeb: The Best of BBC Radio will be released in a special edition box set. A press release on DavidBowie.com stated the following.

“The 39-track 4-disk set comes in a lift off lid box and features a full colour 20 page booklet. This vinyl version features Oh! You Pretty Things from the Sounds Of The 70s Bob Harris session, broadcast in September 1971, which was previously exclusive to the Japanese release of the CD. This performance features just David and Mick Ronson as a duo. Completely exclusive to this collection, and therefore making its debut, is the once lost The Supermen from the Sounds Of The 70s Andy Ferris session, broadcast in March 1970, and performed by The Hype. This recording was only rediscovered during the research for the original CD set and remained unreleased until now.”

The first posthumous album of original material is due to be released sometime next year.

[Photo by Jo Hale/Getty Images]