Zombie George R.R. Martin Joins The Cast Of ‘Z Nation’ — No, This Isn’t A Joke

For fans of George R.R. Martin’s A Song of Fire and Ice book series, have no fear if the zombie apocalypse hits — the books will be published regardless! Well, that is the scenario that occurs in SyFy’s Z Nation anyway.

Entertainment Weekly has confirmed that George R.R. Martin will join the cast of Z Nation as a zombie version of himself in Episode 8 of season 2, which premieres this Friday on the SyFy network. From the images, it seems the scene will involve a zombie George R.R. Martin at the book signing of his last book in the Song of Fire and Ice series (that HBO’s Game of Thrones is based on), A Promise of Spring. However, Entertainment Weekly posted the following information on his appearance in the episode.

“[George R.R.] Martin has been imprisoned by a character called the Collector, who captures celebrity zombies and keeps George chained to a desk for his own nefarious purposes.”

Astute fans will notice something strange, though, in the promotional images. The title of the book in the images is not actually the title of the final book in the series. A Dream of Spring is the expected title of the final installment in the Song of Fire and Ice book series. However, Z Nation is using a play on the title in their zombie series. And the fact that George R.R. Martin keeps promising the next book and not delivering will make fans of the book series both smile and cringe at the black humor. “I just want to prove to my fans that even in the Zombie Apocalypse, the Song of Ice and Fire books will still come out!” George R.R. Martin told Entertainment Weekly.

But for fans, it would kind of make more sense if George R.R. martin joined the cast of The Walking Dead over Z Nation, especially since all the comparisons have been made between the white walkers of HBO’s Game of Thrones and the walkers in The Walking Dead. It would be easier, location-wise, too, for George R.R. Martin to be on Fear The Walking Dead as that is filmed closer to where he lives. However, as one fan pointed out, perhaps this is the perfect way for George R.R. Martin to troll his fan base who is mostly like to point out all the times he could be writing his current novel, The Winds of Winter, but isn’t.

But for a show like Z Nation, it is the perfect avenue to address the fact that it takes so long for George R.R. Martin to finish each installment in his A Song of Fire and Ice series. If he were to appear in The Walking Dead, there would be less chance of being able to humor the audience as AMC take their zombies much more seriously.

You can view all three images released exclusively to Entertainment Weekly of zombie George R.R. Martin in Z Nation here.

Z Nation returns to SyFy on Friday, September 11, 2015.

Are you happy or sad to see George R.R. Martin on Z Nation? Let us know by commenting below!

[Image credit: Kevin Winter/Getty Images]