Billionaire Rapper Dr. Dre To Release His Fourth Album After 15 Years

Dr. Dre is about to release his first album in over 15 years, and he’s using Apple’s new streaming service Apple Music to release it. The rapper is reportedly doing this to continue his great relationship with Apple Inc, which he initially began when he sold his hot Beats headphones line to Apple in 2014 for $3.2 million. Sadly, Dr. Dre admits that this unexpected album will be his last.

Dr. Dre found his inspiration for his new album after the release of the N.W.A biopic Straight Outta Compton. The rapper admitted that he began recording as the biopic was being made and decided to name his new album “Compton” in it’s honor. Recently, USA Today even reported the full track list for the new album.

“I felt myself being so inspired by the movie that I started to record an album. I kept it under wraps. The album is finished.”

On the album, Dr. Dre has some big name feature artists which include Kendrick Lamar, Marsha Ambrosius, Ice Cube, Snoop Dogg, Jill Scott, Eminem, and more. With such a lively track list and feature list, it’s a wonder why Dr. Dre didn’t release a new album sooner. The rapper joked about it over the 15-year dry period, but never released a full album. Dr. Dre has finally admitted that the music he has worked on over the years was just not up to par. He finally released his third solo album Detox and admits that even that album was not quite to his own standards.

“I didn’t like it. It wasn’t good,” he said on the radio show. “The record, it just wasn’t good. I worked my (butt) off on it and I don’t think I did a good enough job.”

Over the years, Dr. Dre has produced many albums for big name artists instead of releasing his own work. may of those artists will be featured on Compton; including Eminem for whom Dr. Dre produced Relapse. Dr. Dre became the first hip hop billionaire in 2014 when his Beats line sold to Apple, so music is basically no longer a necessity for his income. Recently, in Time, Dr. Dre admitted that all the work he recorded in the 2000s prior to the release of Detox will “never see the light of day.” Instead, Dr. Dre has shared a track list for all to get excited about.

The track list for Dr. Dre’s Compton:

  1. “Intro”
  2. “Talk About It” (feat. King Mez and Justus)
  3. “Genocide” (feat. Kendrick Lamar, Marsha Ambrosius and Candice Pillay)
  4. “It’s All on Me” (feat. Justus and BJ the Chicago Kid)
  5. “All in a Day’s Work” (feat. Anderson Paak and Marsha Ambrosius)
  6. “Darkside / Gone” (feat. King Mez, Marsha Ambrosius and Kendrick Lamar)
  7. “Loose Cannons” (feat. Xzibit and Cold 187um)
  8. “Issues” (feat. Ice Cube and Anderson Paak)
  9. “Deep Water” (feat. Kendrick Lamar and Justus)
  10. “One Shot One Kill” (feat. Snoop Dogg)
  11. “Just Another Day” (feat. Asia Bryant)
  12. “For the Love of Money” (feat. Jill Scott and Jon Connor)
  13. “Satisfaction”(feat. Snoop Dogg, Marsha Ambrosius and King Mez)
  14. “Animals” (feat. Anderson Paak)
  15. “Medicine Man” (feat. Eminem, Candice Pillay and Anderson Paak)
  16. “Talking to My Diary”

So far, Dr. Dre has not shared a release date for his new album. The rapper has only reminded us that there will not be another one after Compton.

“This is my grand finale.”

[Photo by Chelsea Lauren/Getty Images for BET]