Yoda Is Going Digital: Star Wars Classics In Full HD And Packed With Extras, Available For Download

Perfectly timed for the release of the Star Wars: The Force Awakens, episodes I-VI of the Star Wars Digital Movie Collection will be available as a complete boxed set or as individual downloads from Friday, April 10, on services such as iTunes, Amazon, Google Play, and Xbox Video.

The Walt Disney Studios, Lucasfilm Ltd., and 20th Century Fox have announced the upcoming release of The Star Wars Digital Movie Collection and for the first time ever, all six epic films in the Saga, from The Phantom Menace to Return of the Jedi, will be available to download onto your gadgets and screens across the known universe.

Lucas film President Kathleen Kennedy and Walt Disney Studios made an announcement.

“Since the debut of the first film nearly 40 years ago, Star Wars has become a worldwide phenomenon with legions of fans from every generation,” said Alan Bergman, President, The Walt Disney Studios. “It’s only fitting that audiences enjoy this legendary Saga and its many fascinating behind-the-scenes stories on a wide variety of platforms, and we’re very excited to finally bring all six films to Digital HD for the first time.”

Lucas Films and Disney have spared no scenes in preparation for this Star Wars release. You can expect the classic Star Wars movies to work seamlessly, with reduced continuation glitches and added special affects.

“We’re thrilled that fans will be able to enjoy the Star Wars Saga on their digital devices wherever they go,” commented Lucasfilm President Kathleen Kennedy.

“These films broke new ground in technology, design, sound, and visual effects, and we’ve created some very special bonus material which delves into the Saga’s rich history, including new and never-before-released conversations between legendary Star Wars artists – the masters who helped George bring his iconic universe to life.”

The Star Wars Digital Download Collection has bonus scenes and includes conversations with key contributors and a curated series of talking head interviews from classic extras for you inner Star Wars geek such as:

Star Wars: Episode I The Phantom Menace

  • Conversations: Doug Chiang Looks Back
  • Discoveries From Inside: Models & Miniatures
  • Legacy content includes “The Beginning”; The Podrace: Theatrical Edit; plus eight deleted scenes.

Star Wars: Episode II Attack of the Clones

  • Conversations: Sounds In Space
  • Discoveries From Inside: Costumes Revealed
  • Legacy content includes “From Puppets To Pixels: Digital Characters In Episode II”; State Of The Art: The Previsualization Of Episode II; and “Films Are Not Released, They Escape”; plus Episode II Visual Effects Breakdown Montage and six deleted scenes.

You can see a full list of each films added extras and bonuses onthe Walt Disney Star Wars Digital Collection website.

[Image Credit Walt Disney Studios]