‘Middle-Earth: Shadow of Mordor’ Named Game Of The Year At 2015 Game Developers Choice Awards

Continuing to win acclaim, Monolith’s Middle-earth: Shadow of Mordor has been honored at yet another video game award ceremony. The official blog for GDC announced that the recent title set in the same universe as Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings was named the Game-of-the-Year for 2015 at the Game Developers Choice Awards.

Speaking about Shadow of Mordor and the other winners of this year’s Game Developers Choice Awards, GDC conference general manager Meggan Scavio commended the games that were recognized at the ceremony. A PlayStation Lifestyle report contained a quote from Scavio that congratulated Shadow of Mordor alongside all the other selected titles.

“I continue to be amazed by the diversity of games that we honored tonight, from AAA action titles like Middle-earth: Shadow of Mordor to standout mobile games like Monument Valley. The games recognized tonight highlight that the video game industry is moving in bold new directions, and they can offer experiences that can be big, small, intimate, epic, unique, grand and compelling. Congratulations to all the nominees and winners.”

Shadow of Mordor
Middle-earth: Shadow of Mordor

In addition to Shadow of Mordor, other games honored at the 2015 Game Developers Choice Awards include Bungie’s Destiny for Best Technology, Blizzard’s Hearthstone: Heroes of Warcraft for Best Design, and Monument Valley for most innovative. Additionally, Hironobu Sakaguchi received the Lifetime Achievement award for his work in creating the Final Fantasy series. The full list of winners from the award show is as follows.

  • Game of the Year: Middle-earth: Shadow of Mordor(Monolith Productions/Warner Bros. Interactive Entertainment)
  • Best Debut: Stoic Studio (The Banner Saga)
  • Innovation Award: Monument Valley(ustwo)
  • Best Technology: Destiny(Bungie/Activision)
  • Best Audio: Alien: Isolation(Creative Assembly/Sega)
  • Best Visual Art: Monument Valley(ustwo)
  • Best Narrative: Kentucky Route Zero: Act III(Cardboard Computer)
  • Best Design: Hearthstone: Heroes of Warcraft(Blizzard)
  • Best Handheld/Mobile Game: Monument Valley(ustwo)
  • Audience Award: Elite: Dangerous(Frontier Developments)
  • Pioneer Award: David Braben
  • Ambassador Award: Brenda Romero
  • Lifetime Achievement Award: Hironobu Sakaguchi

Middle-earth: Shadow of Mordor also recently won several awards at this year’s D.I.C.E. Awards, as the Inquisitr reported. While BioWare’s Dragon Age: Inquisition took home the top honor during that ceremony, Shadow of Mordor swept multiple categories. In total, Shadow of Mordor won eight categories at the D.I.C.E. Awards, including Adventure Game of the Year, Outstanding Innovation in Gaming, Outstanding Achievement in Story, and more.

Do you agree that Middle-earth: Shadow of Mordor was one of the best games released this past year, or would you name a different title?

[Images via Shadow of Mordor]