‘Doctor Who’: Series Eight Titles And Guest Stars Confirmed

Doctor Who‘s eighth season premieres this weekend, and the BBC has confirmed the titles and guest stars for Peter Capaldi’s first run as the time-traveling Gallifreyan.

Amid a run-up week to the new season’s launch that includes a tantalizingly short video of Capaldi posted on Facebook, the BBC has revealed the full titles, writers, and guest stars for each of the series eight’s 12 episodes. Eagle-eyed Doctor Who fans will be able to easily recognize the return of some familiar faces, while yet more may be inferred from the information.

The titles, according to the Telegraph, are:

Episode 1: Deep Breath
Written by Steven Moffat
Directed by Ben Wheatley
Guest stars: Neve McIntosh, Catrin Stewart, Dan Starkey, Peter Ferdinando

Episode 2: Into the Dalek
Written by Phil Ford and Steven Moffat
Directed by Ben Wheatley
Guest stars: Zawe Ashton, Michael Smiley
Introducing Samuel Anderson as Danny Pink

Episode 3: Robot of Sherwood
Written by Mark Gatiss
Directed by Paul Murphy
Guest stars Tom Riley as Robin Hood and Ben Miller as the Sheriff of Nottingham

Episode 4: Listen
Written by Steven Moffat
Directed by Douglas MacKinnon

Episode 5: Time Heist
Written by Stephen Thompson and Steven Moffat
Directed by Douglas MacKinnon
Guest star: Keeley Hawes

Episode 6: The Caretaker
Written by Gareth Roberts and Steven Moffat
Directed by Paul Murphy
Guest star: Ellis George

Episode 7: Kill the Moon
Written by Peter Harness
Directed by Paul Wilmshurst
Guest stars: Hermione Norris, Tony Osoba and Ellis George

Episode 8: Mummy on the Orient Express
Written by Jamie Mathieson
Directed by Paul Wilmshurst
Guest stars: Frank Skinner, Foxes and David Bamber

Episode 9: Flatline
Written by Jamie Mathieson
Directed by Douglas MacKinnon
Guest star: Christopher Fairbank and Joivan Wade

Episode 10: In the Forest of the Night
Written by Frank Cottrell Boyce
Directed by Sheree Folkson
Guest stars: Abigail Eames, Jaydon Harris-Wallace, Ashley Foster, Harley Bird

Episode 11/12 Dark Water/Death In Heaven
Written by Steven Moffat
Directed by Rachel Talalay
Guest stars: Michelle Gomez, Chris Addison, Sanjeev Bhaskar, Jemma Redgrave, Ingrid Oliver

The list reveals much about the upcoming season of Doctor Who, not the least of which is the fact that showrunner Steven Moffat penned half of the episodes. As the International Business Times points out, the Doctor’s oldest enemies make a quick reappearance, with the Daleks popping up in the second episode. Following hot on the heels of the season premiere, Deep Breath, the story will reportedly explore the trust between the Doctor and his companion Clara. As The Inquisitr previously noted, Jenna Coleman, who portrays Clara, is thought to be exiting the series later this year.

There are several other tantalizing bits of information about the new Doctor Who contained in the list. The second episode will introduce Samuel Anderson as Danny Pink, a schoolteacher that works with Clara and is thought to be joining her as another companion in the TARDIS. Dark Water and Death In Heaven will constitute the only two part story arc in this series of Doctor Who, and will see the return of Jemma Redgrave in the role of Kate Stewart, who last appeared in 2013’s The Day Of The Doctor.

Mummy on the Orient Express, meanwhile, is intriguingly titled, and longtime Doctor Who fans will no doubt wonder how deeply the Agatha Christie connection goes. The title also invites speculation that the episode could see the return of a villain from Doctor Who‘s classic era, Sutekh, who threatened Tom Baker’s Fourth Doctor in The Pyramids of Mars.

The eighth series of Doctor Who premieres in just a few days, on August 23rd.

[Image via SuperHeroHype]