Colorado Marijuana Sales Laws

Colorado’s Recreational Marijuana Sales Rules Revealed

The Colorado Department of Revenue has released a 60-plus page report that highlights marijuana sales rules for the state. The rules apply to how recreational marijuana should be licensed, regulated, and ultimately sold throughout Colorado.

As expected, the legal sale of recreational marijuana will be regulated by the state revenue department.

Under the state’s guidelines, very strict and specific recreational marijuana sales rules are listed. For example, the guide specifically focuses on how marijuana should be grown, tested, and labeled for sale. The guide also sets forth very specific rules for marijuana retailers.

When state officials in Colorado were attempting to create recreational marijuana sales rules, they had promised to focus on product testing and proper labeling ahead of other requirements.

Under terms of the agreement, marijuana labeling must confirm to specific language requirements of the state with a focus on potency, amount of THC in the marijuana product, and a clear set of directions that explain how to properly use the product. Labeling also must include a full list of non-organic pesticides, fungicides, and herbicides used during cultivation. The labels will be used on marijuana cigarettes and any other products that are created from the plant.

Every recreational marijuana product in the state of Colorado must also feature the following warnings:

  • “There may be health risks associated with the consumption of this product.”
  • “This product is intended for use by adults 21 years and older. Keep out of the reach of children.”
  • “This product is unlawful outside the State of Colorado.”
  • “This product is infused with Retail Marijuana.”
  • “This product was produced without regulatory oversight for health, safety, or efficacy.”
  • “The intoxicating effects of this product may be delayed by two or more hours.

Recreational marijuana sales rules also require that all buyers present a valid state ID that shows their age. Buyers of recreational marijuana in Colorado must be at least 21-years-old.

The new set of guidelines also states that Colorado residents can grow up to six marijuana plants on their own; however, only three plants can be flowering at any one time.

The new recreational marijuana sales rules also state that people from outside of Colorado can only purchase a quarter of an ounce at one time.

While not in place at this time, a seed-to-sale system will eventually track which growers have created which plants.

 

 

Comments