Stakhovsky didn't agree with a call, so he took out his iPhone and took a picture.

Stergiy Stakhovsky Tweets Picture Of Bad Call At French Open

Stergiy Stakhovsky lost his first round match-up in the French Open to Richard Gasquet but not before a controversial call from the chair umpire. Stakhovsky believed a shot was in-bounds that the umpire called out, but it didn’t stop the 27-year-old from taking a picture with his iPhone after the play, which landed him a warning.

After the match, which finished 6-1, 6-4, 6-3 to Gasquet, Stakhovsky tweeted the picture of the bad call for all too see that read, “Well..here what you ask for …”

The Ukranian tennis player wasn’t joking around in the slightest bit, and he actually has a valid point. When viewing the photo, it’s obvious to tell the ball was to the left of the line and not close enough to be called out, meaning Stakhovsky got the call right and the chair umpire got it wrong.

Nevertheless, Richard Gasquet went on win in straight sets to advance to the second round. This isn’t the first time Stakhovsky has taken a picture of a controversial play, as he did the exact same thing during a match in Munich a few weeks ago.

The first-round loss in the French Open is surely upsetting, but the focus remains on the bad call and his creativity to expose the call on Twitter. Maybe other pro’s will learn from Stakhovsky’s iPhone snapshot and begin taking pictures as well when they don’t agree with a call, though that could cause another debate.

You certainly don’t want matches being held up so a tennis player can snap a quick picture, and, though it’s an easy way to make your point, many people involved in the game would consider it to be disrespectful.

Here’s Sergiy Stakhovsky’s tweet that he sent out shortly after his first-round loss at the French Open.

Was Stakhovsky right in tweeting out a photo of the missed call by the chair umpire at the French Open?

[Image via Christian Mesiano]

Comments