Posted in: Movies

Jonathan Demme Passes On Stephen King’s ’11/22/63′

Stephen King 11/22/63

Director Jonathan Demme is no longer attached to the adaptation of the Stephen King novel 11/22/63, according to Indiewire.

Demme certainly had his work cut out for him. The book is a massive 900-page story chronicling the adventures of a man who discovers he can travel through time. Since he wants to make the world a better place, the adventurer attempts to stop the assassination of John F. Kennedy.

Unfortunately for fans of both Jonathan Demme and Stephen King, the acclaimed director is no longer attached to the project.

“This is a big book, with lots in it,” the filmmaker explained. “And I loved certain parts of the book for the film more than Stephen did. We’re friends, and I had a lot of fun working on the script, but we were too apart on what we felt should be in and what should be out of the script.”

He added, “I had an option and I let it go. But I hope it’s moving forward, I really want to see that movie.”

Demme previously told the website he was attempting to find the right approach to the film. According to the director, there are a number of interesting stories lurking within Stephen King’s novel. In order to make the story work, King and Demme were attempting to find the right narrative thread.

Vulture explains that Jonathan Demme’s departure from 11/22/63 hasn’t affected the filmmaker’s relationship with the legendary novelist.

“We’re friends, and I had a lot of fun working on the script, but we were too apart on what we felt should be in and what should be out of the script,” the director said.

Although this is certainly bad news for fans of the author, there are still a number of King-related projects on the horizon. The Inquisitr previously reported the writer’s book Under the Dome is currently being developed as a mini-series for CBS.

Are you disappointed that Jonathan Demme is no longer attached to Stephen King’s 11/22/63?

Articles And Offers From The Web

Comments