Watch Pakistan Vs. Sri Lanka Cricket Online In The Final Of The Asia Cup 2014

When Sri Lanka defeated Afghanistan by 129 runs they were assured of a place in the Final of the Asia Cup 2014 to be played on March 8.

But that win also ensured that India’s hopes of also being in the final vanished.

The tournament rules state that if two teams are locked on same points, the winner of the match between the two will go through to the final.

Since India have lost to Pakistan, their chances of reaching the final are automatically over.

Sri Lanka won all their three matches, which meant that they found themselves playing a meaningless last game against hosts Bangladesh on Thursday.

Defending champions Pakistan won two of their three matches, beating Afghanistan and India, but going down to Sri Lanka.

The Asia Cup is played every two years, and in the last final in 2012, Pakistan beat Bangladesh by the narrow margin of two runs!

So Pakistan find themselves in the position of being defending champions against a Sri Lanka team that has already defeated them once in the competition.

The final teams will be selected from the following squads:

Pakistan Squad

Misbah-ul-Haq (c)
Ahmed Shehzad
Bilawal Bhatti
Junaid Khan
Mohammad Talha
Shahid Afridi
Sohaib Maqsood
Abdur Rehman
Anwar Ali
Fawad Alam
Mohammad Hafeez
Saeed Ajmal
Sharjeel Khan
Umar Akmal (wk)

Sri Lanka squad

Angelo Mathews (c)
Dinesh Chandimal (vc)
Suranga Lakmal
Ajantha Mendis
Thisara Perera
Ashan Priyanjan
Sachithra Senanayake
Mahela Jayawardene
Lasith Malinga
Kusal Perera (wk)
Dhammika Prasad
Kumar Sangakkara (wk)
Lahiru Thirimanne

To watch the Asia Cup Final in Dhaka on Saturday March starting at 2.00 p.m. Local time (10.00 a.m. GMT) you can click the link HERE.