Lykke Li Reveals New Song ‘Love Me Like I Am Not Made Of Stone’ [VIDEO]

Swedish singer and songwriter, Lykke Li, just released her new song “Love Me Like I Am Not Made of Stone”. It is off her album, I Never Learn.

According to NME, the LP, which is her third studio album, will be distributed by LL/Atlantic and will release on May 5th internationally, and May 6th in North America. The album was co-produced by herself, Björn Yttling (of Peter Björn and John), and Greg Kurstin. Today, Li has released her song, in the form of a music video, to promote her new album. She also included a full track list which is shown below.

  1. I Never Learn
  2. No Rest for the Wicked
  3. Just Like a Dream
  4. Silverline
  5. Gunshot
  6. Love Me Like I’m Not Made of Stone
  7. Never Gonna Love Again
  8. Heart of Steel
  9. Sleeping Alone

Also on NME, Lykke informed that I Never Learn is the third part in a trilogy of albums focusing on the current phase of her life. For this album, she said it covers the “intense period” of being a woman in her 20s. Pertaining to the trilogy and the meaning behind the third album, Li had this to say:

“I see my albums as a trilogy, with [2007 debut] “Youth Novels” as the first one and hopefully this one as the last in this chapter.”

“It’s always about me and the guilt and the shame and the hurt and the pride and the confusion of being a woman. I always feel like I’ve been slightly misunderstood. As a woman you get judged for appearances or things like that I don’t really care about. If anything I want to be seen as a singer-songwriter rather than a pop artist. I really feel like I’ve found my voice.”

The above statement incorporates the fact that Lykke does not consider herself a “pop-star”. She even expressed, in a vein similar to Ariana Grande, as reported by Todd Rigney of The Inquisitr, that all her musical influences, including Neil Young, The Shangri-Las, This Mortal Coil, The Beatles, and Rolling Stones were at one time known as “pop-stars”, but not anymore.

In another statement, reported by Pitchfork, she added these statements about her upcoming album, specifically on the songs:

“Every song on the album is a power ballad. Like one of those old radio stations. This is a slow dance; a slow burner.”

“I wrote [“No Rest for the Wicked”] in Sweden when I was packing up my sh*t, and I’d just gotten out of a relationship and it was a horrible time. I just had the hurt, shame, sadness, guilt, longing. In the verse, I’m referring to myself pleading guilty but I’m referring to all of us.”

Just from the above statements, Lykke may be going through a tough time in her life. She may be utilizing music as a form of venting. As for timing, this is about right, if you take in the fact that the time gap between her debut album, Youth Journals (2008), and her second album, Wounded Rhymes (2011), is about three years.

Along with the release of the song and music video, a new tour was announced too. The dates and locations of the venues are listed below.

  1. 04-24 Stockholm, Sweden – Berns
  2. 04-27 Brussels, Belgium – AB
  3. 04-29 Berlin, Germany – Astra
  4. 04-30 Munich, Germany – Kesselhaus
  5. 05-02 Cologne, Germany – E-Werk
  6. 05-03 Utrecht, Netherlands – Tivolivredenburg
  7. 05-06 Paris, France – Trianon
  8. 05-08 London, England – Village Underground
  9. 05-09 London, England – Village Underground
  10. 05-15 New York City, NY – Apollo Theatre
  11. 05-19 Los Angeles, CA – The Theatre at the Ace Hotel